Walk in their Shoes

This is post I decided to do because I had a something happen to me that feel incredibly bad about. I jumped to conclusions about a certain individual and it really nip me in the butt. Sometimes we have to walk in someone elses shoes to really understand what they are going through.

Too many times these days with jump to conclusions about an individual and choose not to understand them. It is really had to get anything done in business, school, etc. when can’t understand someone’s reasoning. When we jump to conclusions we don’t give people a chance to learn and heal from their mistakes.

Let me tell you a story about a little boy. This little boy came up to this farmer and ask to buy one of his puppies. The farmer ask well how much money do you have? The boy answered I have 39 cents, will that do. The farmer counted the money one by one and said yep that will do.

The farmer took the boy to the area where the puppies were and 4 cute puppies ran to the foot of the boy. The boy started to pet all of them. The farmer asked so which one do you want. As soon as the boy was going to decide he saw the five puppy come to his feet. You see he had back leg problems and couldn’t run like the other puppies. The boy said I want that one.

The farmer was suspicious and ask why because that puppy could not run and wouldn’t be fun to play with. At that same time the boy pulled up his jeans and on his feet were steel braces with two special shoes attach to them. The boy said see I don’t run well either this puppy is going to need an owner that understands.

Being a leader is all about understanding one another. We can’t get suck in a mindset that judges people. Most jobs you have to work with others to get tasks done. There is a chance you are going to stuck in a group that one person or multiple people are going to have a bad day. That doesn’t give you the right to jump done their throat. Sometimes you have just take their faults to really understand.

One of my good friends had a boss jump down his throat about something. He told me that he was the only one in the group pulling their weight. He said he was going to confront his boss about it. Well that next day his boss was out of the office and mail came for his boss. He signed the package and opened it. He found out that his wife just filed the papers for a divorce. He told me that night that it changed his whole entire perspective and now he was helping his boss by leading the team while his boss gets everything sorted out.

It is soooo easy to judge each other and to discredit them without ever understanding their side of the story. Criticism takes a hold of us in any environment. We all have the incentive (it seems) to discredit someone in order to advance to a better position. Give them a bit of room! I am not saying that they are right about unleashing at you. Just take time to get to know why they are angry today. Leaders take time to get understand their followers. They are understanding and deal with those people in a way to lift them up.

This world is full of people that need someone that understands. For this week I challenge you to go out there and have a different perspective about certain individuals. If you have an individual at your job or class that you don’t know about and you judge a bit. Get to understand that person and find out his/her story… then try to lead in the right direction. Once you do this you will help this person grow while you grow yourself.

About William
I am William Bryan IV and I am currently a senior at Truman State University. I am majoring in Accounting and Finance with a minor in Economics. I spent two years at Iowa Western Community College and was a Resident Assistant my freshman year and a Senior Resident Assistant my sophomore. I graduated from Iowa Western with an associate’s degree in May 2008. At Truman, I am involved in Delta Sigma Pi. My strengths are that I am eager to learn, drive to succeed, willingness to help others, and dedication to my education. I would love the opportunity to be able to grow myself professionally and academically.

Leave a Reply

